Skip to main content

Certified Functional Continuity Professional (CFCP)

The Certified Functional Continuity Professional (CFCP) is for those in our industry with a specific skill or focus. These individuals have demonstrated knowledge and skill in business continuity within a very narrow scope.

An example of this would be an expert in IT recovery, application testing or Business Impact Analysis (BIA).

The Certification Process

The CFCP level of certification is for individuals who have demonstrated knowledge and working experience in the business continuity/disaster recovery industry. The level requires more than two (2) years of experience. Applicants must be able to demonstrate specific and practical experience in three (3) of the subject matter areas of the Professional Practices. Regular recertification requires an ongoing commitment to continuing education and industry activities. If you have less than two years of industry experience, you should apply for the ABCP certification.

CFCP Certification Details (DRI Serbia authorized fees)

Prerequisite Exam: Qualifying Examination
Prerequisite Course: None
Application Fee: $300 US Dollars
Annual Renewal Fee: $100 US Dollars
Years of Experience: 2 years
Subject Matter Area Essays (SMEs): 3 SMEs
References Required: 2 per subject matter area
Waivers Available: None

To apply for CFCP certification, all applicants must:

  1. Possess at least two years of significant, practical experience in three of the subject areas of the Professional Practices for Business Continuity Management.
  2. Pass the Qualifying Examination with a minimum score of 75%.
  3. Complete the Online Application for Professional Certification by logging into your DRI account.
  4. Complete application essays focused on your business continuity / disaster recovery planning responsibilities and accomplishments by mapping your experience to the Professional Practices. At least one of the three selected subject matter essays MUST draw from:
    1. Subject Area 3: Business Impact Analysis.
    2. Subject Area 4: Developing Business Continuity Strategies.
    3. Subject Area 6: Developing and Implementing Business Continuity Plans.
    4. Subject Area 8: Maintaining and Exercising Business Continuity Plans.
  5. Provide references to confirm your experience. Experience must have occurred within a ten-year period from your application date.

Important Note: Inform your references about your application. Ask for their prompt assistance when DRI International requests validation of your experience and subject area pages. Incomplete applications cause delays in the process, and we may require additional steps and requests to you for additional information.

Once your references have validated your experience, the Commission will review your application. This review may also prompt the commissioners to contact you for additional information.

About References

Applicants must provide the names and contact information for at least two individuals who can document your experience in each subject area. The total number of references you provide can be as few as two (if both references can attest to all your required subject areas), or many more (if different references are provided for each of your required subject areas). Additional references may be provided to save processing time in case, if the first two references cannot provide verification from the first two.

List all the references you need to document your minimum two years of required experience. Some individuals will list several, while others may list only two. Just make sure that the references you select can verify a minimum of two (2) years of your business continuity experience.

Important Note: This entire process can take several weeks. DRI International contacts all applicants upon approval. Once approved, professional certification status and recertification period documents are provided.

Certification Maintenance

Recertification is required for all certification levels. Regular recertification requires an ongoing commitment to continuing education and industry activities. There is a yearly maintenance fee for all certification levels. There are 80 CEAPs required for CFCP.